Elections Nova Scotia

Sackville-Cobequid By-election

Information regarding the upcoming Sackville-Cobequid by-election will be posted here. The writ for the Sackville-Cobequid by-election has not yet been issued. Under the House of Assembly Act, a writ must be issued for the Sackville-Cobequid by-election by May 16, 2019, six months from the date the vacancy occurred.
Sackville-Cobequid District 44

Registered Candidates (to date)
(Candidate names will be added as registrations are received)

Lara Fawthrop         Nova Scotia New Democratic Party (NDP)
Steve Craig           Progressive Conservative Association of Nova Scotia (PC)


Sackville-Cobequid By-election – Nomination Fee Waived  

For the upcoming Sackville-Cobequid by-election the $200 candidate nomination fee will not be required as part of the nomination process as outlined in the Elections Act.

Following the 40th Provincial General Election, several changes to the Elections Act were recommended in Volume II: Report on the Conduct of the May 30, 2017 Provincial General Election and Recommendations for Legislative Change, dated December 2017. 

The recommendation that the nomination fee requirement be removed was based on the Alberta Court of Queen’s Bench decision. This recommendation received unanimous support from the members of the Election Commission who represent the three parties with two or more elected members in the House of Assembly. The Act allows the Chief Electoral Officer to modify any provision to permit its use at a by-election.

This will be the second time the nomination fee was waived. The first was during the Cumberland South by-election held June 19, 2018.

Printer-friendly version