Elections Nova Scotia

Sackville-Cobequid By-election

Release date: 
May 15, 2019

Sackville-Cobequid By-election   


Media Release: May 15, 2019

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Richard Temporale, has received an order from the Governor in Council for a by-election to be held in the electoral district of Sackville-Cobequid. The CEO has issued a writ of election; election day will be June 18, 2019. 
To date, there are four registered candidates:

Steve Craig                          Progressive Conservative Association of Nova Scotia (PC)
Anthony Edmonds              Green Party of Nova Scotia (GPNS)
Lara Fawthrop                     Nova Scotia New Democratic Party (NDP)
Michel Hindlet                     Nova Scotia Liberal Party (NSLP)


All registered eligible voters will receive a personalized Voter Information Card (VIC) outlining the different options to cast their vote. Eligible voters can be added to the voters list during the by-election when they vote with the appropriate identification.

The returning office for the Sackville-Cobequid district is located at 585 Sackville Drive and will be open for early voting on Thursday, May 16, 2019. An advance poll will be held at the Knights of Columbus Council, 252 Cobequid Road, for 7 days, from Saturday, June 8 to Saturday, June 15, except Sunday June 9.


Watch for updates at electionsnovascotia.ca, on Twitter @electionsns and our Facebook page facebook.com/electionsnovascotia.



Contact:        Naomi Shelton 
                    Director, Policy and Communications 
                    Elections Nova Scotia 
                    902-424-3275 or 902-223-4871



Printer-friendly version