Elections Nova Scotia

By-elections in Two Electoral

Release date: 
February 6, 2020

By-elections in Two Electoral Districts   


Media Release: February 6, 2020

Elections Nova Scotia – The Assistant Chief Electoral Officer (ACEO), Peter Gzowski, acting for Chief Electoral Officer, Richard Temporale, has received an order from the Governor in Council for by-elections to be held in the following two electoral districts:

  • Cape Breton Centre
  • Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River


The ACEO has issued writs of election for these electoral districts and election day will be Tuesday, March 10, 2020.

To date, the following candidates are registered:

Cape Breton Centre
David Wilton, Nova Scotia Liberal Party

Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River
Ivan Drouin, Green Party of Nova Scotia
Allan Kennedy, Nova Scotia Liberal Party
Kathleen Kevany, Nova Scotia New Democratic Party
David Ritcey, Progressive Conservative Association of Nova Scotia
Matthew Rushton, Independent


Registered eligible voters in these electoral districts will receive a personalized Voter Information Card (VIC) outlining the different options to cast their vote. Eligible voters can be added to the voters list when they vote with the appropriate identification.

Eligible voters have the option to vote in advance of election day in either of two districts. This option is available at the returning offices and at any of the community poll locations. On election day eligible voters must vote at their assigned voting location or at the returning office in their own electoral district.

Watch for updates at electionsnovascotia.ca, on Twitter @electionsns and our Facebook page facebook.com/electionsnovascotia.



Contact:        Naomi Shelton 
                    Director, Policy and Communications 
                    Elections Nova Scotia 
                    902-424-3275 or 902-223-4871



Printer-friendly version