Elections Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Electoral Boundaries Commission

The electoral boundaries of Nova Scotia are reviewed at least every ten years by an independent Electoral Boundaries Commission.

The previous Electoral Boundaries Commission was established in December 2011 and presented its Final Report in September 2012. The electoral district boundaries came into effect on the dissolution of the House before the 39th Provincial General Election in October 2013.

A new commission to provide recommendations on electoral boundaries was established in July 2018 by the Select Committee on Establishing an Electoral Boundaries Commission. The Select Committee established the terms of reference for the commission and the commission members. The members of the Electoral Boundaries Commission are:

- Colin Dodds, Chair, Halifax
- Carlotta Weymouth, Dartmouth
- Michael J. Kelloway, Sydney
- Paul Gaudet, Saulnierville, Digby Co.
- Michael J. Baker, Hammonds Plains
- Glenn Graham, Antigonish
- Peter Marshall Butler, Halifax
- Leonard LeFort, Cheticamp
- Angela Simmonds, Westphal, Halifax Regional Municipality

Electoral Boundaries Commission Website

More information on the Electoral Boundaries Commission can be found on their website at https://nselectoralboundaries.ca/

The website contain information on planned public meetings, resources (including draft boundary proposals, maps and prior reports), information on public submissions, and how to contact the Electoral Boundary Commission.

Under the Terms of Reference, the commission is to submit an interim report by Nov. 30 and its final report by Apr. 1, 2019.  The commission will hold public hearings before preparing its interim report and again before preparing its final report. The commission will also receive written submissions.

Information related to the select committee’s report can be found at https://nslegislature.ca/legislative-business/committees/select/select-committee-establishing-electoral-boundaries-commission-2018


For more information, contact the Electoral Boundaries Commission by email at ElectoralBoundariesCommission@novascotia.ca


The planned public meetings are as follows:

Tuesday, September 4 –  Sackville 6:00-8:00 pm

Acadia Hall,

650 Sackville Dr, Lower Sackville


Wednesday, September 5 –  Bedford 6:00-8:00 pm

BMO Centre

61 Gary Martin Dr, Bedford


Thursday, September 6 – Halifax 6:00-8:00 pm

Future Inns,

 30 Fairfax Dr, Halifax


Friday, September 7 –  Shelburne 6:00 – 8:00 pm

Osprey Arts Centre,

 107 Water Street, Shelburne


Saturday, September 8 – Tusket 10 :00 am – 12 :00 pm

Salle Père-Maurice-LeBlanc in Centre communitaire de Par-en-Bas,

4258 Highway 308, Tusket

Simultaneous interpretation services available at this location.


Saturday, September 8 –  Clare 7:00-9:00 pm

Clare Veterans’ Centre

9938 Highway 1, Saulnierville

Simultaneous interpretation services available at this location.


Wednesday, September 12 –  Preston 6:008:00 pm

Black Cultural Centre,

10 Cherry Brook Rd, Halifax


Thursday, September 13 –  Dartmouth 6:00-8:00 pm

Cole Harbour Place (Westphal Room),

51 Forest Hills Pky, Dartmouth


Friday, September 14 – Richmond County 6:00-8:00 pm

Louisdale & District Fire Hall,

Highway 4, Louisdale

Simultaneous interpretation services available at this location.


Saturday, September 15 – Chéticamp 6:00-8:00 pm

Royal Canadian Legion Branch No. 32,

15438 Cabot Trail Rd, Chéticamp

Simultaneous interpretation services available at this location.


Saturday, September 22 – Baddeck 10:00 am-12:00 pm

Inverary Resort Conference Centre (Room: Glasgow 1),

 368 Shore Rd, Baddeck


Saturday, September 22 – Sydney 7:00-9:00 pm

Cambridge Inn Suites Hotel,

380 Esplanade, Sydney

Printer-friendly version